Search site

Contact

Librarian DSATM Library

Udayapura, Kanakapura Road, Opp to Shri Ravishankar ashram. Bangalore-560082

+91 9036702948

Home > Digital Resources > Databases > Academic Databases

Academic Databases

List of academic databases and search engines

Name	Discipline(s)	Description	Access Cost	Provider(s)
Academic Search	Multidisciplinary	Several versions are available: Complete, Elite, Premier, and Alumni Edition^[1]	Subscription	EBSCO Publishing ^[2]
Aerospace & High Technology Database	Aerospace, Aeronautics, Astronautics		Subscription	ProQuest^[3]
AJOL: African Journals OnLine	Multidisciplinary	African journals	Free abstracts; Subscription full-text	African Journals OnLine^[4]
AgeLine	Sociology, Gerontology	Includes information on aging-related topics, including economics, public health and policy.	Subscription	EBSCO Publishing [6]
AGRICOLA: Agricultural Online Access	Agriculture		Free & Subscription	Produced by the United States National Agricultural Library. Free access provided by NAL^[5]. Subscription access provided by Proquest^[6], OVID^[7].
AGRIS: Agricultural database	Agriculture	Coverage: agriculture, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, extension literature from over 100 participating countries. Material includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.	Free	Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. https://agris.fao.org AGRIS
Airiti Inc	Multidisciplinary	China, Taiwan.	Subscription	Airiti Inc^[8]
Analytical Abstracts	Chemistry		Subscription	Royal Society of Chemistry^[9]
Analytical sciences digital library	Analytical sciences		Free	National Science Digital Library and the Analytical Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society^[10]
Anthropological Index Online	Anthropology	Index only (no abstracts or full-text).	Free	Royal Anthropological Institute ^[11]
Anthropological Literature	Anthropology		Free to Harvard faculty, staff and students. Subscription for non-Harvard access.	Maintained by Harvard University. Non-Harvard access provided by OCLC^[12]
Arachne	Archaeology, Art history	German Language	Free	German Archaeological Institute & the University of Cologne, administered by Reinhard Foertsch^[13]
Arnetminer	Computer Science	A free online service used to index and search academic social networks	Free	Tsinghua University^[14]
Arts & Humanities Citation Index	Arts, Humanities	Part of Web of Science	Subscription	Thomson Reuters^[15]
arXiv	Physics, Mathematics, Computer science, Nonlinear sciences, Quantitative biology and Statistics		Free	Cornell University^[16]
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library	Computer Science, Engineering		Subscription	Association for Computing Machinery^[17]
Astrophysics Data System	Astrophysics, Geophysics, Physics		Free	Harvard University^[18]
ATLA Religion Database	Religious studies	Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues	Subscription	^[19]
AULIMP: Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals	Military Science		Free	Air University^[20]
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine	Multidisciplinary		Free	Bielefeld University ^[21]
Beilstein database	Organic chemistry		Subscription	Elsevier ^[22]
Biological Abstracts	Biology	A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.	Subscription	Available from Thomson Reuters^[23]
BioOne	Biology, Ecology, and Environmental Science	An aggregation of over 78,000 peer-reviewed, full-text articles on current research in Biodiversity Conservation, Biology, Ecology, Plant Sciences, Entomology, Ornithology, and Zoology.	Free Abstract & References, Subscription Collections, and an Open Access Collection	Available from BioOne^[24]
Bioinformatic Harvester	Biology, Bioinformatics	A meta search engine for 50 major bioinformatic databases and projects.	Free	Available from Liebel-Lab [7] KIT Karlsruhe Institute of Technology [8]
Book Review Index Online	Book reviews		Subscription	Thomson Gale^[25]
Books In Print	Books		Subscription	R.R. Bowker^[26]
Chemical Abstracts Service	Chemistry		Subscription	American Chemical Society^[27]
ChemXSeer	Chemistry		Free	Pennsylvania State University^[28]
Chinese Social Science Citation Index	Social sciences		Subscription	Nanjing University^[29]
Cochrane Library	Medicine, Healthcare	Includes reviews of research to promote evidence-based healthcare.	Subscription	Wiley Interscience^[30]
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health	Nursing, Allied Health		Subscription	EBSCO^[31]
CHBD: Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database	Medicine		Free	University of Calgary^[32]
Citebase Search	Mathematics, Computer science, Physics	Semi-autonomous citation index of free online research	Free	University of Southampton^[33]
CiteSeer	Computer Science	No longer being updated. See CiteSeerX.	Free	Pennsylvania State University^[34]
CiteSeerX	Computer Science		Free	Pennsylvania State University^[35]
CogPrints: Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archives	Science (General)		Free	University of Southampton^[36]
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies	Computer science		Free	Alf-Christian Achilles^[37]
Compendex	Engineering	Electronic version of Engineering Index.	Subscription	Elsevier^[38]
Current Index to Statistics	Statistics	Limited free search^[39]	Subscription	American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics^[40]
Current Contents	Multidisciplinary	Part of Web of Knowledge. Contains 7 discipline-specific subsets.	Subscription	Thompson Reuters^[41]
Directory of Open Access Journals	Journals		Free	Lund University^[42]
DBLP	Computer science	Comprehensive list of papers from major computer science conferences and journals	Free	University of Trier, Germany
EconLit	Economics	The American Economic Association's electronic database, the world's foremost source of references to economic literature.	Subscription	Produced by the American Economic Association ^[43]. Available from CSA, DIALOG, OCLC, OVID, and AEA.^[44]
EMBASE	Biomedicine, Pharmacology	Biomedical database with a strong focus on drug and pharmaceutical research.	Subscription	Elsevier^[45]
ERIC: Educational Resource Information Center	Education	Education literature and resources. Provides access to over 1.3 million records dating back to 1966.	Free	Produced by the United States Department of Education^[46]. Also available by subscription from OCLC, CSA.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts	Food science, Food technology, Nutrition	The world's leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition	Subscription	Produced by the International Food Information Service. Access provided by OVID, Web of Knowledge, Dialog, DataStar and STN International^[47]
FOREASt: Free Open Resources for East Asian Studies	East Asian Studies	Covers over 300 free and open access resources for studying China, Japan, and Korea, including online databases, digital collections, and open access journals.	Free	Internet East Asian Library^[48]
Fuse	Business research papers	A business research engine, indexing 728 open-access ejournals and similar open sources. Does not search press releases or trade magazines.	Free	Fuse^[49]
GENESIS	Women's history	Descriptions of women's history collections from sources in the UK, as well as women's history websites.	Free	London Metropolitan University^[50]
German Education Index	Education	A bibliographical database that provides comprehensive references to all areas of education.	Free	Coordinating Office of the German Education Index^[51]
Google Scholar	Multidisciplinary		Free	Google^[52]
GoPubMed	Medicine		Free	Transinsight GmbH ^[53]
HubMed	Medicine	An alternative interface to the PubMed medical literature database	Free	Alf Eaton^[54]
IEEE Xplore	Computer Science, Engineering, Electronics		Subscription	IEEE ^[55]
Information Bridge: Department of Energy Scientific and Technical Information	Energy	1991–present.	Free	United States Department of Energy^[56]
Informit	Multidisciplinary	Australasian aggregator of bibliographic databases and journals	RMIT Publishing^[57]
Infotopia	Multidisciplinary	United States search engine of academic sites approved by librarians, teachers, and consortia]]	Free	Dr. Michael Bell^[58]
IngentaConnect	Multidisciplinary		Free searching; Subscription full-text	Ingenta^[59]
Inspec	Physics, Engineering, Computer Science	The leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production, and mechanical engineering.	Subscription	IET^[60]
International Directory of Philosophy	Philosophy	Contains information on university philosophy departments and programs, philosophical societies, research centers, journals, and philosophy publishers around the world.	Subscription	Philosophy Documentation Center^[61]
Intute	Multidisciplinary	Intute serves students, teachers, and researchers in UK further education and higher education, offering a selection of around 300,000 academic websites which have been hand-picked and described by subject specialists.	Free	Intute^[62]
Intwine	Arts and Humanities	Allows the searching of the full-text of all academic websites catalogued by the Intute arts and humanities service from 2005-2010.	Free	Intwine^[63]
JournalSeek	Multidisciplinary	open access journals in different language	Links to journal's home page and publisher	JournalSeek^[64]
JSTOR: Journal Storage	Multidisciplinary (Historical)		Subscription	JSTOR^[65]
JURN	Arts and Humanities	Freely search and retrieve the full-text of over 3,600 scholarly ejournals in the arts and humanities.	Free	JURN^[66]
MathSciNet	Mathematics	Available in print as Mathematical Reviews	Subscription	American Mathematical Society^[67]
MedlinePlus	Medicine		Free	Produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, the United States National Institutes of Health, and the United States Department of Health and Human Services^[68]
Merck Index	Chemistry, Biology, Pharmacology	Also available in print.	Subscription	Produced by Merck & Co.. Available from CambridgeSoft Corporation, Dialog, Knovel, MedicinesComplete, STN International^[69]
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts	Meteorology, Astrophysics, Geology		Subscription	Produced by the American Meteorological Society. Available from Dialog^[70] and CSA^[71].
Microsoft Academic Search	Computer Science and a limited extent on information science	Provides many innovative ways to explore scientific papers, conferences, journals, and authors^[72]	Free	Microsoft
NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research	Economics		Free	National Bureau of Economic Research^[73]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service^[74]	Criminology, Sociology	Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, agency and NGO reports, and conference proceedings	Free	United States Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs^[75]
National Diet Library Collection	Multidisciplinary	Japanese. Catalog for the National Library of Japan.		National Diet Library^[76]
OAIster	Multidisciplinary		Free	University of Michigan ^[77]
Open J-Gate	Journals	Index of open access journals	Free	Informatics India Ltd.^[78]
OpenSIGLE	Grey literature	Indexes European grey literature.	Free	Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique^[79]
Philosophy Documentation Center eCollection	Applied ethics, Philosophy, Religious studies	Journals, series, conference proceedings, and other works from several countries.	Subscription	Philosophy Documentation Center^[80]
PhilPapers	Philosophy		Free	PhilPapers^[81]
POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials	Philosophy	journals and series	Subscription	Philosophy Documentation Center ^[82] and InteLex Corporation ^[83]
PsycINFO	Psychology	The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 19th century.	Subscription	Produced by the APA^[84]. Available from several database vendors.^[85]
PubMed	Medicine		Free	National Institutes of Health and the U.S. National Library of Medicine^[86]
PubChem	Chemistry		Free	National Center for Biotechnology Information and the U.S. National Library of Medicine ^[87]
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature	Journals and Magazines	Coverage: 1983–present.	Subscription	H. W. Wilson Company^[88]
Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890 - 1982	Journals and Magazines		Subscription	H. W. Wilson Company^[89]
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics	Economics		Free	Volunteer Collaboration ^[90]
Rock's Backpages	Music	Primary documents from the history of Rock and roll	Subscription. Limited free access with registration.	Backpages Limited^[91]
SafetyLit^[92]	Multidisciplinary	Citations and abstracts of journal articles and reports from researchers working in the more than 35 distinct professional disciplines (architecture - zoology) relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm.	Free	San Diego State University Graduate School of Public Health^[93] and the World Health Organization, Department of Violence and Injury Prevention^[94]
Science Citation Index	Science (General)	Part of Web of Science	Subscription	Thompson Reuters^[95]
ScienceDirect	Multidisciplinary		Subscription	Elsevier^[96]
Scirus	Science (General)		Free	Elsevier^[97]
Scopus	Multidisciplinary		Subscription	Elsevier^[98]
SeDiCI UNLP ^[99]	Multidisciplinary	Journal articles, conferences' proceedings, theses, pictures and all the Intellectual Creation from the National University of La Plata	Free	National University of La Plata^[100]
Social Science Citation Index	Social science	Part of Web of Science	Subscription	Thompson Reuters^[101]
Socol@r: Socolar	Multidisciplinary	Scholarly open access resources in different language	Free abstracts; Links to full-text	Socolar^[102]
SSRN: Social Science Research Network	Social science	Contains an abstracts database and a electronic paper collection, arranged by discipline.	Free	Social Science Electronic Publishing, Inc.^[103]
SSRRN: Social Science Research Resources Network	Social science	Indexes datasets and statistical codes	Free	Social Science Research Resources Network =^[104]
SPIRES-HEP	Physics, (High Energy)		Free	Stanford Linear Accelerator Center & partners ^[105]
SpringerLink	Multidisciplinary		Free abstract & preview; Subscription full-text	Springer ^[106]
TDG Scholar	Computer science		Free. Aggregates scholarly articles.	The Distributed Group^[107]
Udemy	Multidisciplinary	Allows anyone to teach and learn online through videos, webinars, forums, and more.	Free	Udemy
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory	Periodicals]		Subscription	Proquest^[108]
VADLO	Biomedicine, Life science	Categories indexed: Protocols, Online tools, Powerpoints, Databases, Software	Free	VADLO^[109]
Web of Knowledge	Multidisciplinary	Includes other products, such as Web of Science, Biological Abstracts & The Zoological Record	Subscription	Thomson Reuters^[110]
Web of Science	Science (General)	Includes other products, such as Social Science Citation Index & Science Citation Index.	Subscription	Thomson Reuters^[111]
WestLaw	Law (General)		Subscription	Thomson Reuters
WorldCat	Multidisciplinary	Unified catalog of member libraries' catalogs	Free and Subscription versions	OCLC^[112]
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin: Japanese Periodicals Index	Journals	Japanese.		National Diet Library's Online Catalog^[113], MagazinePlus^[114], CiNii^[115]
Zentralblatt MATH	Mathematics	First three records free without subscription.	Subscription	Springer Science+Business Media^[116]
The Zoological Record	Zoology	Unofficial register of scientific names & papers in Zoology. Coverage 1864–present.	Subscription	Thompson Reuters^[117]

Applied Science Databases: ( https://www.library.kent.edu/page/10078 )

Scopus
Excellent database for all scientific, technical and medical reserch. Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 16,000 peer-reviewed titles, most of them in full text. Highly recommended.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database of mostly scientific literature, listing 39 million items from some 8,700 journals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a search for scholarly literature identifying the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar indexes and provides links to works from a wide variety of academic publishers and professional societ
Annual Reviews
29 focused disciplines in the Biomedical, Physical and Social Sciences. All articles are written by experts in the field. These authors carefully examine the primary research done on a topic and then select the major articles in that subject area.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Premier bibliographic database for citations and abstracts of the world's literature dealing with the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms.
Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection
A collection of seminar style talks by leading world experts, containing over 700 seminar style talks designed to meet the needs of research scientists, graduate students and the most advanced undergraduates. All of the seminars have been specially commis
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Access to research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. Biochemical engineers, fermentation technologists, enzyme technologists, microbiologists, environmental engineers, food processing specialists, pharmacists and physicians can turn to this database for up-to-date perspectives on new development
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications
Food Developers e-Source
20 titles from Food Developers e-Source with valuable information related to food products. This new resource helps provide a common understanding of the major ingredients used in food processing, their properties, and applications.
NZ Science
NZ Science is an index of New Zealand scientific literature provided by the Crown Research Institutes (CRIs), previously the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR), and the Royal Society of New Zealand.
Oceanic Abstracts
Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
TOXLINE
Access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology.