Databases

AGRIS  Index to international agricultural literature. Includes articles, technical reports, proceedings, theses, and documents primarily from, or related to, the developing world. 1975- present.^{[Open Access]}

AGRICOLA (agriculture & life sciences-related research ) ^{[Open Access]}

arXiv.org e-Print archive ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} One of the most innovative and successful experiments to date in scholarly communication. First developed in 1991 by the Los Alamos National Laboratories, the arXive-print server was the first successful automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in physics and related disciplines: mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) CE Database (1970-)  ^{[Open Access]}  
This database contains bibliographic references and abstracts to all ASCE publications, including journals, conference proceedings, books, standards and manuals published since 1970.

BioMed Central ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}  
Offers online publishing of research articles in all areas of biomedical research with full peer review and barrier-free access for all. All original articles are published in one of the BioMed Central journals as well as being posted without delay on PubMed Central and indexed in PubMed.

China Historical GIS Webmaps ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} 
The China Historical Geographic Information System (CHGIS) project provides searchable databases containing images of Harvard's map collections, including maps from Qing Dynasty, Chinese place names, East Asian Maps, and other GIS Resources.

Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion and inhibition data for over 8,000 chemicals ) ^{[Open Access]}

ChemIDplus (chemical dictionary searchable by name, formula, registry number, and structure ) ^{[Open Access]}

CrossRef  ^{[Open Access]}  
Is a citation linking service based on DOI (Digital Object Identifier) standards. It provides access to millions of citations and abstracts of articles from over 1,600 scholarly and professional publishers. Full-text is only available for open access content or for those resources to which the Library has a subscription.

Crystallography Open Database  (All data on this site have been placed in the public domain by the contributors) 

DOE Information Bridge (Full text of over 27,000 U.S. Department of Energy research and development reports ) ^{[Open Access]}

Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library - Chemical Engineering  ^{[Open Access]}

Energy Citations Database (1948-)  ^{[Open Access]}  
Provides citations to literature on energy and related subjects from the U.S. Department of Energy and its predecessor agencies. It indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, reports and theses

Esp@cenet (Europe's Network of Patent Databases) ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}                   Are maintained by the European Patent Office. The databases provide bibliographic information, abstracts, and full text/images of US patents, British patents, French patents, German patents, Swiss patents, and patent applications published by the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Office. Bibliographic information and abstracts of Chinese and Japanese patents, and bibliographic information of patents from over 50 other countries are also available.

GenBank (the NIH genetic sequence database maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI))^{[Open Access]}

GEOBIB (geographical information ) ^{[Open Access]}

GrayLIT Network   Full text of 100,000+ technical reports located at the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DoD), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).^{[Open Access]}

IDEAS ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} 
The largest database dedicated to Economics available on the Internet. Over 200,000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 120,000 can be downloaded in full text! It includes working papers and articles from over 150 archives, such as IMF, NBER, US Federal Reserve Bank, central banks and major universities in the world. Contains the complete RePEc database.

Integrated Risk Information System (human health risk assessment for over 500 chemicals)^{[Open Access]}

MatWeb: Material Property Data ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} 
A free materials information database with over 24,000 materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. Users can search by material type, trade name, manufacturer, property, and metal composition. It also provides other useful resources like conversions table and weight calculator.   

Map Viewer (provides special browsing capabilities of genes or chromosomes for a subset of organisms in the Entrez Genomes database )^{[Open Access]}

NASA Astrophysics Data System  ^{[Open Access]}  
A NASA-funded project that includes four abstract services: Astronomy and Astrophysics (500,945 abstracts); Instrumentation (516,298 abstracts, including 90,000 from SPIE); Physics and Geophysics (429,653 abstracts); ADS/LANL Preprint Abstract Service (2,905 abstracts and full articles). In addition, they include links to scanned images of over 40,000 journal articles from most of the major astronomical journals and proceedings in its Article Service. There are also online books relating to astronomy and astrophysics.

National Environmental Publications Information System (Full text of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency documents )^{[Open Access]}

NCSTRL (Full text computer science-related technical reports)^{[Open Access]}

NIST Chemical Kinetics Database on the Web ^{[Open Access]}  
Includes essentially all reported kinetics results for thermal gas-phase chemical reactions.

NIST Chemistry WebBook ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}  
Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the USA, this database provides data of thermochemistry (5,000 compounds), enthalpy of reaction (3,000 reactions), infrared spectra (5,000 compounds), mass spectra (8,000 compounds), ion energetics (14,000 compounds), etc. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.

NIST Data Gateway ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} 
Provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data that covers a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. Also includes links to selected free online NIST databases. One can search by keywords, properties and substances across a collection of NIST databases.

NSSN: A Global Resource for Standards ^{[Open Access]} 
Contains over 250,000 references to standards from more than 600 developers worldwide. It includes industry, international and U.S. Government approved standards and standards under development.

NTIS (1988-)  ^{[Open Access]}  
The official source for government-sponsored U.S. and worldwide research reports and studies in the fields of science, engineering, business and social sciences. "Search for Products" provides citations and selected abstracts to 370,000 publications, CD-ROMs and audio-visual materials added to the NTIS collection within the last ten years.

OAIster ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}  
Provides free access to a wide range of full-text resources made available by the academic community. You can search and retrieve books, journal articles, technical reports, preprints, theses, working papers, audio files, images, etc. by harvesting digital resources from over 100 research libraries and institutions worldwide.

OMIM (a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders ) ^{[Open Access]}

Population Reference Bureau ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}  
A very rich information source on world population. Includes country profiles, data sheets and full-text reports on population, health, and environmental topics. Under DataFinder, there is also a searchable database with data on 95 demographic variables for more than 220 countries and 28 regions.

PubChem ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}  
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. It consists of three linked databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.

RefSeq (provides a comprehensive, curated, integrated, non-redundant set of sequences including genomic DNA, transcript (RNA), and protein products ) ^{[Open Access]}

Scirus  ^{[Open Access]} 
  Searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical    data, including peer-reviewed articles, patents, preprints, technical reports, etc. It incorporates both subscription and open access full-text scholarly literature such as arXiv.org, BioMed Central, Cogprints, government patent servers, Medline and NASA technical reports.

Searching PAJ (Patent Abstracts of Japan) ^{[Full text] [Open Access]}  
The PAJ database provides full-image access to English translations of Japanese patents. It has over 6 million records with bibliographic data, summarized texts and major drawings. Users may also link to a facsimile of the original Japanese patent from the English version.

SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR) ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} 
Provided by the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission, this database contains the electronic filings that corporations are required by law to make with the SEC. The filings include company annual reports and prospectuses, and other reports.

TRIS   More than 420,000 books, journal articles, and technical reports on transportation research from the 1960's to the present. ^{[Open Access]}

USPTO Web Patent Databases ^{[Full text] [Open Access]} 
Provided by the US Patent and Trademark Office, it contains full-text images of US patents from 1790 to present.

USGS National Geologic Map Database    Searchable Geoscience Map Catalog, Geologic Map Image Library, Lexicon of Geologic Names of the United States, and links to related resources. Most of the maps in the Catalog are from the U.S. Geological Survey, and therefore available in our Ansari Map Library. ^{[Open Access]}

Water and Climate Bibliography Pacific Institute's database of scientific literature pertaining to climate change and freshwater resources worldwide. Includes abstracts where available.^{[Open Access]}

WorldCat  ^{[Open Access]}  
This open access version of the WorldCat union catalog provides access to millions of bibiographic records contributed by thousands of OCLC member libraries worldwide. Books, journals, Internet resources and virtually any type of materials are included. It supports searching by keyword, title, author, ISBN and several limiting options, and provides links to the catalogs of the holding libraries.